Portugal, Israel and Gibraltar on green list as government unveils travel information


The Government has revealed which 12 countries will be listed as green under its traffic light system for travel during the COVID pandemic.

Portugal, Gibraltar and Israel were confirmed as green but popular destinations Spain and Greece were not.

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps says that we must ensure that where we visit is safe.

He also confirmed that countries on all 3 lists will be regularly reviewed with green status being removed where appropriate.

This means that brits looking to get away this summer will be able travel to these countries from 17th May without the need to quarantine for 14 days on return.

Making the decisions on which countries would be green, the government took into account the latest infection rates as well as how each countries vaccine rollout was doing.

This meant that many EU countries didn’t make the list, in many cases because of the slow progress of the EU’s vaccine programme.

Countries that are on the amber list will require 14 days self-isolation on return.

Those listed as red will see passengers having to quarantine in government approved hotels at a cost of around £1500.

The clarification of country status is expected to prompt a surge in bookings to those on the green list as people seek to get away for the first time in 18 months.

But some government advisors have warned that we risk importing the virus back to our shores if free-for-all travel is not discouraged.

Turkey, Nepal and the Maldives were also added to the red list today.

Inclusion in the green list does not automatically mean you can travel there though as some countries may have bans in place on entry into the country from the UK.

The full list of Green countries

  • Portugal
  • Israel
  • Singapore
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Brunei
  • Iceland
  • Gibraltar
  • Falkland Islands
  • Faroe Islands
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  • St Helena, Tristan de Cunha, Ascension Island

What each light means

  • Green: arrivals will need to take a pre-departure test as well as a polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test on or before day 2 of their arrival back into England – but will not need to quarantine on return (unless they receive a positive result) or take any additional tests, halving the cost of tests on their return from holiday
  • Amber: arrivals will need to quarantine for a period of 10 days and take a pre-departure test, and a PCR test on day 2 and day 8 with the option for Test to Release on day 5 to end self-isolation early
  • Red: arrivals will be subject to restrictions currently in place for ‘red list’ countries which include a 10-day stay in a managed quarantine hotel, pre-departure testing and PCR testing on day 2 and 8