England & Wales announce differing quarantine exemptions


England & Wales have different quarantine exemptions for the first time after the Welsh Government deviated from the UK Government by adding Portugal and several Greek islands to the destinations that need a 14 day quarantine.

It had been expected that the UK government would remove Portugal from the safe list but it chose not too, despite cases being above the 20 cases per 100,000 people.

The news means there are no changes to the current quarantine exemption list for England but travellers arriving into Wales will now have to quarantine from the following destinations.

  • Portugal (excluding Madeira and Azores)
  • Gibraltar
  • French Polynesia
  • Mykonos
  • Zakynthos (Zante)
  • Lesvos
  • Paros
  • Antiparos
  • Crete

From 4am on Friday 4th September passengers from these countries arriving into Cardiff Airport will need to quarantine for 14 days.