Government adds Greek Islands to quarantine list


The UK Government has added Seven Greek islands to the list of places that require a 14-day quarantine on return to England, Wales & Scotland maintain their own safelists.

The islands of Crete, Lesvos, Mykonos, Santorini, Serifos, Tinos, and Zakynthos/Zante are all now off the safe list as the cases per 100,000 people is above the government’s threshold of 20 cases per 100,00.

The move marks a change in the government’s stance and is the first time only part of a country has been taken off the safe travel list. Previously countries were added as a whole such as Spain and the Spanish Islands.

Transport Secretary Mr Shapps said the government would use the better data that is becoming available to focus restrictions on hotspots such as islands or regions rather than as a whole country.

He said that method would give the government greater flexibility in keeping people safe whilst also helping the travel industry.

Travellers arriving into Scotland already have to quarantine from anywhere in Greece whilst in Wales, quarantine is in effect for Crete, Lesvos, Mykonos, Paros and Antiparos and Zakynthos/Zante.

For England, the quarantine for Crete, Lesvos, Mykonos, Santorini, Serifos, Tinos, and Zakynthos/Zante comes into effect at 04:00hrs on Wednesday.

About Nick Harding 1909 Articles
Nick is the senior reporter and editor at UK Aviation News as well as working freelance elsewhere. He has his finger firmly on the pulse on Aviation, not only in the UK but worldwide. Nick has been asked to speak in a professional capacity on LBC, Heart and other broadcast networks.